As desirable educational reform, the CBSE initiated a system of student evaluation referred to as Comprehensive and Continuous Evaluation (CCE). It has already been implemented for classes 9 and 10, followed by classes 6–8 in the next phase and finally for the primary classes, 1 to 5. The CBSE has made recommendations for the primary classes, which will enable primary school children to enjoy learning in a stress-free environment and will dovetail CCE in the primary classes with the process in secondary school.

The CBSE suggests that schools desist from assessing the students on the basis of terminal examinations and move towards the continuous and comprehensive evaluation of the students.

To enable students to get used to this system, and because it is a more holistic method of student assessment, many schools are looking to introduce CCE at the primary level.

The objectives of CCE are two-fold. These objectives are:

  • Continuity in evaluation

  • Assessment of broad-based learning and behaviourial outcomes
The term continuous emphasises that the evaluation process is continuous and is spread across the span of an academic session.

The second term comprehensive indicates that the evaluation covers not only the scholastic, but also the co-scholastic and co-curricular aspects of student growth and development.

The Strengths of the CCE System
  • CCE focuses on the all round development of the personality of the child.
  • It uses a variety of assessment techniques to assess the progress of the child.
  • The assessment is aimed at diagnosing the problem areas in the child’s development.
  • CCE is child-centred as it considers each learner as unique and builds on the individual child’s abilities, progress and development.
  • It is school-centred as it is done entirely by the teachers, who are trusted and given complete responsibility for evaluating their student
Areas of Assessment
The CCE-based system of assessment is divided into three parts. After assessment, the students will be given grades and percentile rank instead of marks or percentages.

Part 1: Scholastic Areas

The assessment for the academic subjects is in the form of grades (on a 9-point scale) and percentile rank.
The year is divided into two terms: Term 1 from April to September and Term 2 from October to March. Each term has two formative and one summative assessment. So in a year there are 4 formative assessments and 2 summative assessments. Each formative assessment is given a weight of 10% each. So the total weight given to formative assessments in a year is 40%. The weight for each summative assessment is 30% , so that is a total of 60% for summative assessments.
Measurement of Scholastic Achievement  
Part 2: Co-scholastic Areas

This assesses 4 areas: Life skills, Work Education, Visual and Performing Arts and Attitudes and Values on a 5-point grading scale.

Part 3: Co-curricular Areas

This part covers co-curricular activities such as participation in literary, scientific, aesthetic and club activities, and health and physical education.
Assessments in April, May, July, August, October, November, December, January, February are to be formative in nature and those at the end of September and March, summative.